1 month down, 6 weeks to go!

I’m 4 weeks in now and time is actually flying by.  I guess I really only recall about 2 weeks of that since I really did lose about 2 weeks of my life right after surgery.  I must say that the walls are starting to cave in now and I get bored easily.  I’m thankful that I can work from home right now which keeps me busy weekdays.  I also have to remind myself that it could be worse, it could be winter and I could be completely stuck inside.  I’ve been able to swing myself with the walker over to our pool deck to watch the kids swim which always makes me happy.

I’m still very soar and bruised, it’s too early to tell if this surgery is going to be successful yet.  One positive thing is that my pubic bone is not cracking or shifting around anymore.  I don’t hear or feel that cracking which is amazing!  It used to crack and shift hundreds of times a day, but now with those fancy metal plates and screws holding me into place it’s gone, YES!  My hands are very soar lately due to the walker.  Since I can only swing my legs together aka “hop” with it, it puts a lot of pressure on my hands.  It’s kind of like doing hundreds of dips in a day, my arms are getting quite a workout.  But this is minor in the scheme of things, just an annoyance.  I can take standing showers now and I’m able to get myself food on my own, sort of.  I have a bag attached to my walker to carry stuff around but it gets tricky with food so I do my best.

I’m at the point now where I would love to get out of the house, I might start hitting up friends to take me around in a wheelchair somewhere just to get out.  Anyone who knows me knows that I don’t sit around, I’m Type A.  The clutter and messiness around the house is actually giving me anxiety and there’s nothing I can do about it and it drives me nuts!  I can’t go upstairs until the end of July so who knows what is going on up there.  Jim is so busy taking care of our property and the kids, so I’ve been relying on friends and family to organize stuff and put things away around here.  Again, very minor I’ll get over it.

Patrick is having a very hard time still, his routine is all messed up and mommy isn’t able to take care of his needs.  He usually looks at me and says either “Get up mommy” or “Hold you” or “No where’s daddy”.  Poor kid is all out of sorts, but it’s temporary, at least I hope.  I can’t help but get a little worried that I might be disabled for the rest of my life if this surgery doesn’t work.  I don’t want to think about that right now so I’m going to focus on the positive things around me.  I have amazing friends and family, thank you all for your continued support, this is a marathon not a sprint, but we’ll get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

