7 weeks post surgery

July 4th 2015

I’m 7 weeks post surgery now! I go back to my surgeon in Hershey next week to get fresh Xrays and review my status.  I’m hoping that I will hop in there with my walker and finally be able to walk out without it.  We’ll see what he says…  I have left hip pain again, similar to the pain I had prior to surgery.  It is constant now and doesn’t go away, this is making me very nervous that it’s something I’ll have to deal with my whole life, but it’s still too early to tell.  I’m still slightly bruised in that area so that’s just proof that the healing process is very long.  Major surgery is no easy task!

I decided to start setting small goals for myself.  I want to be able to walk Madelyn to the bus stop this fall.  Her bus stop is close to a mile away so it will be a pretty far walk, but I’m really hoping I can do that with her.  She asked me the other night if all Mommy’s have surgery.  I told her no only sometimes if it’s necessary and most Mommy’s don’t have surgery.
She said she just wanted to know.  I think when she talks about my surgery with her friends they don’t know what she means and she’s trying to figure out why they don’t know. She’s still handling this “no mommy” thing very well.  Patrick is not at all, terrible 2’s times 10 and mommy can’t do anything for him.  He’s a handful.

My good friend Sue took me out shopping the other day in a wheelchair.  I have a new respect for disabled people in wheelchairs, it’s very difficult to get in and out of doors.  I will make sure to help anyone in a wheelchair with doors, reaching things, basically everything after this experience. I couldn’t even see the pad to sign my name after paying for something with a credit card.  They should make those easier to reach for people in wheelchairs.  That was quite the enlightening experience.

I’m very bored but still have enough to keep me busy at the moment.  Working from home, books, movies, puzzles and snuggling with my kids.  I can’t wait till I can play with them again!  I really miss swimming and playing outside with them and taking them to activities.  I used to take these things for granted, but not anymore.  I will cherish every moment I get to spend with them.  You don’t realize what you have until it’s taken away.

2 thoughts on “7 weeks post surgery

  1. Hi Cyndi,

    Peter, Karen and the gang from Martin & Associates! Glad to see that you are moving around a wee bit more. Enjoyed your card too and glad the flowers actually showed up!

    Cheers,

    Peter

    Like

  2. I’m so glad I found this! After 2.5 years of this pain, I finally saw a physiatrist who wants to help me. I’m getting a new mri, then she’s referring me to a surgeon a few hours away from where I live. Not a single doctor I’ve seen has had a patient like me before, and it took a long time to get a diagnosis. I’m just like you, symphysis pubis dysfunction with osteitis pubis. Some days I’m okay, but most days I limp around and occasionally need my crutches. I’m only 27. I have a 2 year old and 3 year old and I feel your pain. It’s incredibly difficult. I’m quite scared of the surgery. I know it’s been a long time since you’ve updated, so hopefully you still check back. Are you doing okay now?

    Like

Leave a Reply

