Turning the corner!

Dare I say it, but I’m starting to seriously get better!!!  My back is much less painful in the last couple weeks.  I have been doing a new set of strengthening and stretching exercises every day for the last 6 weeks or so.  I found this random book online and figured what the hell, I’ll give it a try I have nothing to lose.

IMG_0543

Ok granted I’m not pregnant and my post-partum is almost 3 years now but my condition with my back is all related to my pregnancy still so I wanted to give this a try.  I didn’t notice anything the first 3-4 weeks and I almost gave it up, but then all of a sudden one day I had so much less pain, yeah!!!  Jim has to help me every night with one of the pelvic symmetry exercises, which is an exercise that is supposed to equalize both sides of your pelvis, it hurts but I think it’s working.  Then there is a series of other exercises to do that is supposed to be done in a certain order.  The whole routine takes me about 30 minutes every day and so worth it so far.  Nowhere in this book does it mention pregnancy related osteitis pubis and the bone erosion I had prior to surgery, so I’m sure that these exercises would not have helped with that prior to surgery.  I know for a fact that I would not have even been able to do half of these exercises anyway, but now that I’m fused in the front and all screwed back together I can tackle this.

I even did a Pilates class a couple times, I’m so excited about this!!!  Never thought I’d be doing anything like that any time soon and I was totally ok in the class.  The front of my pelvis felt completely normal (minus the annoying hernia) and my back was not too bad.  I’m so completely overjoyed to be back on my feet again, literally.  This whole ordeal over the last 3 years has been horrendous and this has been my first glimmer of hope to living pain free again.

 

Leave a Reply

